The Ritual of Getting Dressed

There was a time, several years ago, when I gave very little thought to my clothing.  I wore what was required for my job, when it was required, and I changed into comfortable (often sloppy) clothing as soon as I possibly could.  I did very little with my hair, letting it hang in whatever form my haircut would permit.  My morning routine was often quite rushed, and even the minimal preparations for the day seemed to take more time than I had.

Now, I spend most of my days at home, and dressing has become a ritual.  At night, I put my hair up in either pins or rollers to curl it.  I start the morning in a looser house dress, and change into a corset and a regular house dress sometime in the late morning.  At that time, I also arrange my hair.  If I do go out, there are different dresses that I wear for that purpose.

As the reader may imagine, this all can be a bit time consuming.  I have noticed that I seem to have far less free time now than I ever had when I was working.  I am not even really sure where my time goes most days.  My tasklist of daily chores seems overwhelming at times, and  I have been woefully behind on writing lately.

Given this, the reader may think why spend so much time on dressing and maintaining my appearance?  It may seem particularly silly, as most days, the only ones who see me are my spouse and my grandmother.

However, our choices regarding clothing represent fundamental choices that we make every day.  Do we take the time to dress neatly, or are we sloppy out of laziness?  Do we wear pants or skirts and dresses?  Do we leave the house in clothing that we could sleep in?  Do we allow ourselves to be walking advertisements for businesses or causes?  Do we choose clothing that looks pretty and traditional, or do we use our clothing as a form of “rebellion?”

vlcsnap-2014-02-05-16h43m12s7These are not trivial choices.  They speak to our values, our beliefs, and our relationships with others and with our community.  We are Axial Beings, which means that we have the capacity for Free Will.  Unlike animals, fairies, and nature spirits, we have the choice of how we present ourselves, and our choices in these matters are choices between Light and Dark.

I have found that my dressing ritual has been an essential part of my personal spiritual journey.  When wearing skirts and dresses, I feel gentler and more feminine.  When I look in the mirror with my newly curly hair, I smile and I feel softer inside.  When I get fully dressed, I have more energy for my daily tasks.

I rest happy in my new dressing ritual.  I think that it is time well spent, don’t you, dear reader?

See also:

Lolita-Mere Frills or a Light in the Darkness

Lolita Fashion and Philosophy for the Poor-but-Kawaii

5 thoughts on “The Ritual of Getting Dressed

  1. Rayati Miss Hildotter

    I have a questions about corsets, do they restrict much movement? My employment is very physical and I am pulling pallets lifting stock and bending.

    Will it be a bad idea wearing one while stocking?

    Thank you

    In Amity,
    Nyssa Feverwood

    • Hmmm…that is a bit of a difficult question to answer.

      I have found that my corset is much more comfortable than one may think, and it gives very good back support. Actually, I have found it quite helpful when performing physical tasks for that reason.

      A corset does restrict movement in the sense that it forces one into good posture. One can not slouch in a corset. It also changes where it is comfortable to sit. Upright chairs become far more comfortable than modern couches, for example.

      I hope that this helps somewhat.

  2. The time consumed by the thoughtful application of correct dress is time well spent. It is such a joy to read your thoughts on dress, since so rarely one meets such wholesome ideas on the subject. May I suggest the electronic archive fittingly called Hearth, where many useful publications pertaining to domestic pursuits and beautiful and fitting dress can be obtained free of charge: http://hearth.library.cornell.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?page=simple&c=hearth

Thank you for your visit. Please honor us with your thoughts.

