Developing a Routine

As I am settling into being primarily responsible for taking care of the house, and all of the tasks and chores that go with it, I am finding time management a bit of an issue.  I am also working on developing an astrology practice, continuing my astrological and metaphysical studies, learning Japanese, and writing for three blogs.  I am considering working on a fourth blog, which would be devoted to an astrology practice.  Additionally, I want to be available to visit and spend time with my grandmother, who lives upstairs from me and to maintain social relationships.  There are also several projects I would like to complete, such as cleaning out the closet and the back porch and writing an astrology book.  Oh yes, I am also working on handmade gifts, and I would eventually like to learn how to sew.  Whew!  Strangely enough, I am finding I have less time now that I have closed my previous business, not more!

To Do ListI wrote a previous article about my time management woes, and I think that part of the difficulty is developing a new routine.  Routines are quite helpful, at least for me.  The reason for this is that it cuts down on the amount of decisions one needs to make.  I know that there have been times that I have wandered about the house from room to room just trying to decide what to do next!

When I was working outside the home, I used time management software to keep me on track.  It finally dawned on me that I can use that same time management software with all of my current chores, tasks, projects, and plans.  I have always liked Microsoft Outlook.  I have tried other programs, but that is really the one that works best for me.  One of the reasons I like it is that I can set up the visual interface Outlook Today to only show me the tasks for each day at a time!  I can also set up tasks on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis, and it will pop up on that schedule.  This means that when I open up Outlook each day, my tasklist is all ready for me, without me having to think about it each day.  I also feel a sense of accomplishment every time I check off a task on the list!

I am also learning to feel comfortable with doing a little at a time.  There are some really big tasks like the project of cleaning out the closet and the back porch which seem daunting and overwhelming.  I am trying to work on them a little at a time each day.

I do not know that I am actually accomplishing more, but I may be.  Developing a routine is helping me feel a bit less overwhelmed and minimizing the amount of time I spend wandering through the house trying to figure out what I am doing!

 

3 thoughts on “Developing a Routine

  1. I struggled, for so long. And really, I still do. Flylady was a huge help for me as my basic issue was with not knowing what to do NEXT… and so doing nothing. :-/

  2. I was listening to a podcast on time management which suggested that it was better to used a physical list but I think that anything that helps you is a good thing. Now that I am trying to get ready to go back to work on Sunday I am finding that the leisurely lifestyle I have been living is becoming cramped with working out, spring cleaning, hanging out with friends and juggling my feelings of a new relationship. Still If I list what I need to do a day maybe I will plan better. I can relate to K’s comment of not knowing what to o next is a big problem for me as well.

  3. I have used physical lists, but I tend to have some trouble with paper and paper management as well . Making decisions about what to do next is often the most difficult and scariest part of getting things done. I also have trouble with guilt, in that if I am doing one thing, I feel bad and guilty I am not doing something else. Or I start something, remember something else I need to do, and then have a lot of undone or half done projects all about the house!

    Good luck in starting work again on Sunday, Miss Feverwood!

Thank you for your visit. Please honor us with your thoughts.

