The Hair I Inherited

My mother just came for a visit, and she left a couple of days ago.  By a strange coincidence, on the day she left, in my WordPress Reader, there appeared a Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis.  I do believe that when these things happen in this way, there is a reason and a purpose.  My mother lives across the country, so I really do not see her very often.  The last time I saw her was over two years ago.  We talked a great deal over the time she was here, and it was lovely to see her.

There was one facet of my journey that my mother was quite helpful with, in her own way.  Actually, it is a rather big problem for me.  That problem is my hair.  As you have all been reading, I am working on a lot of changes, including improving my clothing choices and personal appearance.  Still, there is the problem of my hair, and what to do about it.  One of the things that I inherited from my mother, and the rest of my family is very, very fine Scandinavian hair.

To be honest, for most of my life, I really did not even really try to do much with my hair.  When I was growing up in the 1980’s, the style was “big hair,” which was achieved using curling irons and blow dryers.  Now, I never learned how to use a curling iron.  I am incredibly clumsy anyways, so it was always an exercise in frustration, not to mention a painful exercise in frustration, as I inevitably would burn myself.  Besides that, no matter how much work I put in, my hair would go back to the straight, flat lifeless state it had been in.

Pin Curl styleI recently started researching pre-Eclipse hairstyles, and I discovered bobby pins and pin curls.  This has been the most wonderful discovery!  During her visit, my mother also introduced me to hair rollers.  Between pin curls and hair rollers, for the first time in my life, I have found a way to give my hair some life and body.

My mother also perfectly described the troubles I have always had with my hair, as these are the same troubles she has with hers.  As my mother described it, our hair starts off seeming compliant.  It goes into the shape that we want it to without too much trouble.  I have been able to put up my hair into lovely styles with bobby pins after a bit of practice.  Yet, as the day goes by, our very fine hair, strand by strand, escapes whatever we put it in.  It does not matter how many pins we use, or how much hairspray we use, the individual hairs still fly from their proper place.  Similarly, any curl will fall out by the end of the day as well.

As I was thinking of it, I think that the challenge I face with my hair is a very good metaphor for the challenge that we are facing when we try to be pure and innocent, particularly in the Late Iron Age in a Tamasic Guna.  We start off trying to make changes, but we get lazy or tired or start to feel lonely in our efforts.  We decide to have dinner by the TV, or leave the dishes for the morning.  We decide not to bother getting dressed nicely when we leave the house.  It is just the grocery store, after all.  We watch modern television because it is on.  Spiritually, we feel too tired to say our nightly prayers.  If we allow these little bits of laziness to take over, soon we are back to where we started on our journey.

I think that the solution to these challenges is the same solution that I have to the trouble of my hair.  During the day, I may have to keep my hair up to preserve the curls and re-adjust bobby-pins, or engage in other efforts to maintain my hair.  I also need to keep trying and not give up, even though there are days it seems like a lost cause.  On a spiritual level, we just do our best to keep up with our prayers and maintain our connection with Dea, whatever name we call Her by.  We recognize our faults and failings, and keep trying.

We also resist the temptation to just give up.  If we do succumb to the temptation to give up, we can always try again the next day,  That works with both hair and life I think.  We can always try again the next day!

Oh yes, we can also learn from those who came before us.  Our troubles are not unique.  Thank you, Mom, for the advice about the hair rollers.

2 thoughts on “The Hair I Inherited

  1. Hair rollers are a boon for my hair! I have never cared much for curling irons, either. Have you ever seen Edith Maude Hull’s hair in “The Sheik”? Her hair also falls out in little hairs, much like my own does. You can also see how she actually has long hair in some scenes of the movie, but pins in up into a lovely bob of curls. I have very long hair, so this is how I regularly do my hair. It takes A LOT of bobby pins, and I recommend using more bobby pins regardless of the hair style you are doing in order to keep the hair better in place. Sometimes having two or more bobby pins per curl is necessary, as long as you are able to spread the hair out over the bobby pins to conceal them (for the most part, anyways).

    • Oh gosh, it takes *much* more than two bobby pins per curl, and even then it flies away! My guess is that even if I covered my hair with bobby pins WITH hair spray, little individual hairs would still fall away.

      It really just is a matter of patience, diligence and re-adjusting, sadly. Thank you for your comment and your hints, though.

Thank you for your visit. Please honor us with your thoughts.

